Talking music…

 

I can’t sing to save my life but I love music. When I’m writing there’s always music in the background and I’ve frequently been inspired to write a scene from lyrics I’m listening too.

I’ll listen to anything….rock, soul, blues, jazz, country. Current favourites are Counting Stars by One Direction, Hey Ho by The Lumineers and Pink’s Just Give Me A Reason. I also love South Africa music and frequently write to Watershed or The Parlotones. For some brilliant South African music that is more traditional check out the multi-Grammy winners, Ladysmith Black Mambazo and the ‘White Zulu’ Johnny Clegg.

I love songs with a story (must be the writer in me 🙂 ), so I do gravitate to modern country music. Songs with a good story…um…Meat Loaf’s Paradise By the Dashboard Light (Funny), Pink’s Just Give Me a Reason (Sad), Tim McGraw’s Live Like You Were Dying (Powerful) and Garth Brook’s Learning to Live Again (evocative. ) Fellow author Kelly Hunter introduced me to Keith Urban’s Stupid Boy this morning and it almost made me cry. Check it out here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=brrsX8JAKFI

But now and again there’s a song that resonates with me and right now, Kenny Chesney’s track with Dave Matthew’s I’m Alive stops me in my tracks.

Maybe because it just reminds me – at this crazy, crazy busy time on my life filled with kids and work and writing and LIFE! – to stop and breathe. It reminds me to be grateful. Watch the video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bynMis1h_8U

Do you have song that defines your life? Or one that you like at the moment? Or one that makes you laugh? Or cry? Let me know…

Joss

xxx

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

