I know things…rambling on about trusting your gut instinct.

My friend Kerry was totally weirded out on Friday evening when I told her that I know things…ok, to be fair, she freaked out when I told her that I’ve see ghosts (twice- a story for another day) but she did give me a sideways look when I said that I know things…

So, to be clear, I’m not claiming any huge psychic ability here, I don’t see visions, can’t tell you where that body is buried or where your Grandma’s diamond ring is. I just get a deep sense of certainty about things that going to happen in my life. Sometimes through dreams, sometimes through feelings.

Let me give you some practical examples. When I was 16 I fell madly, totally, soul-strippingly in love. He was my soul mate, my best friend and all my birthdays and Christmases rolled into one. We were together for two years and I thought (as you only can at 16 and 17) that he was my happy ever after. We were trying to juggle how we were going to carry on our relationship when he left school and one night I had a dream that I was going to marry and my surname would be Wood. I told him, he freaked and broke up with me. Broke my heart in a hundred pieces. But I knew that I would marry a Wood and he was the only Wood I knew and as a consequence I spent far too much time pining over him.

Until a blonde with a fantastic butt in ripped jeans crossed my path in a pub many years later. I looked at him and knew that I was going to marry him. I think I needed a tequila when he told me that his surname was Wood. Twenty years later and I’m still married, to the right Wood!

Other examples…

I knew I was going to be published by Mills and Boon. I didn’t know when but I knew it would happen. In its own time but it would happen. Six books later and here I am. I knew that my son would achieve a place in a provincial hockey team although the odds were seriously stacked against him. I knew. Deep down in my gut…

My husband and I have an issue we’re worrying about at the moment (sorry, can’t tell you, I don’t believe in spilling everything on social media sites! 🙂 ) and I’ve known, for years, that the problem we’re worrying about will be resolved. In its own time. My gut is screaming that it will be OK and I can feel him rolling his eyes every time I tell him not to worry, that it will all work out. I wish he could feel what I’m feeling because he’d be so much less stressed…

So, the point of this rather rambling post? Trust your gut, that inner voice even when you can’t. That guy you instinctively don’t like? Don’t date him. You feel uncomfortable about loaning someone money? Don’t. You want to turn left when you always turn right? Turn left. The more you listen, the stronger the voice becomes.

Because it is the voice of whatever entity you call God. It’s the essence of truth of your life…and it will never, ever fail you.

Joss

xxx

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

