I need a hero name….

Help, help, help.

I have 30K down of my new work-in-progress and I realized that the name I had for my hero, Mitch, I used for a secondary character in If You Can’t Stand The Heat. (release date September 2013.)

My hero is a hot white hat (good guy internet hacker who tests internet security systems) and while he’s super bright, he’s the anti-thesis of what I’d think a computer nerd would look like. I’ve been using the name Eli but it’s not right and I am so stuck!

This is what I imagine him to look like, complete with the denim blue eyes! So if you’d like to waste some time- and have a little drool- here he is! Let me know the first name that pops into your head!

mitch 2

Joss

xxx

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

18 thoughts on “I need a hero name….

  1. Natalie Anderson May 22, 2013 at 6:51 am Reply

    He’s a bit lovely!!!!!!!!! But i need some more detail… where is he from? I’m all for short manly names (that are easy to scream) – lol. Or how about something completely ‘proper’ that wouldn’t be what you expect given his ex-hacker tendencies – like George (actually, you can’t have George as I have a Kiss George coming soon) – or a posh name that he’s abbreviated? Edward to Ted type thing only way cooler.. oh I’m no use whatsoever!!!!!

    • josswoodbooks May 22, 2013 at 7:11 am Reply

      Mmm, good idea. A posh name…that might work! James?

  2. amandajward May 22, 2013 at 7:02 am Reply

    Josh, Ryan. Mike. Nicholas is a great name. Karl. Ian. perhaps?

    hugs Manda xxxx

    • josswoodbooks May 22, 2013 at 7:12 am Reply

      I love Nicholas except that he was my hero in Wild About the Man. Ian’s not too bad…Thanks Manda!

  3. deseres01 May 22, 2013 at 7:07 am Reply

    First name that popped into my head … Connor or maybe Jasper, Ryan, Ace, James, CJ, Beau, Brayn, BJ, Danny, Eric, Fritz ??

  4. josswoodbooks May 22, 2013 at 7:13 am Reply

    I’m kinda/sorta heading towards James. Thanks, D!

  5. TashNz (@TashNz) May 22, 2013 at 7:48 am Reply

    Sebastian, Carlos or Dylan 🙂

    • josswoodbooks May 24, 2013 at 2:58 pm Reply

      And Seb it is…thanks so much Tash!

      • TashNz (@TashNz) May 26, 2013 at 9:19 am

        WAHOOOO awesome name 😀

  6. Zee Monodee May 22, 2013 at 7:59 am Reply

    ‘Devon’ popped into my mind, but James works, too 🙂

  7. Robyn Rychards May 22, 2013 at 2:52 pm Reply

    What about Levi? Goes with the denim blue eyes! Steve was the first thing that popped into my head but that’s because he reminded me of Steve McGarrett on Hawaii 5-0

  8. Michelle May 24, 2013 at 2:44 pm Reply

    Brent? Or Seamus (the Irish version of James)? What’s his ethnic background?

    I have a dear friend from high school who is an Aerospace Engineer, named Rodolfo. Rudy is his nickname, but he’s from Panamá,

    • josswoodbooks May 24, 2013 at 2:57 pm Reply

      I like Brent and I think I might keep the name for another book. And I love James, but I want to keep it for a real bad boy. Decisions, decisions…thanks for leaving a comment!

      • Michelle May 24, 2013 at 3:46 pm

        How old is he?

        Patrick, Christopher/Chris, Daniel?

  9. Jennifer dellaRossi May 27, 2013 at 11:18 pm Reply

    Can I, a great fan off your writing, offer up ‘Strauss’ as in Levi Strauss. Its cool, sexy and intellectual as you think of the composer too. loving it was just a kiss, ‘melt-your-panties’ so funny and hot. Oh to write like you Joss.

    • josswoodbooks May 28, 2013 at 8:17 am Reply

      Oh Jennifer, that is the sweetest thing to say and you cannot know how much it means to me! Especially on a day when I am wanting to throw my characters into a wall and the words are coming with the speed of a slug and I having doubts that I am ever going to get another book finished. Thank you bunches, honey!
      PS. And I love Strauss and Levi and definitely will be using one or the other in a book soon!

      • cassandracharles June 4, 2013 at 12:34 am

        ‘Throw my characters into a wall.’ That made me laugh. James is the lead in my short story, and you’re right, it does have bad boy connotations. I like the name Seb, too. And, that guy is hot! I admit that’s what made me click onto this post…

      • josswoodbooks June 4, 2013 at 7:41 am

        Hi Cassandra,

        Thanks for the comment! One of the best things about being a romance author is being able to drool over hot men and call it research!

        Good luck with your short story.
        Joss
        xx

Leave a Reply

