My pitiful advice to a mommy-to-be….

Our special friends Ali and Chris, after many, many years of years of struggling to fall pregnant and IVF attempts, are expecting their precious baby in September and we’re so excited for them. Chris and my husband have been friends since they were six months old and it’s so, so exciting.

I was looking at the stunning mural Ali has drawn for the nursery (maybe when it’s finished she’ll let me post it here to show you) and was looking at the decor and the beautiful cot and it struck me that it’s been ten years since we had a baby in our house. Ten years! A decade! Twelve since we had our first child, who is now taller than me.

Holy mackerel….hold on, I’m just going to take a moment to recover.

Right, I’m back. So, I was lying in bed- not sleeping. (If you want to know why hop along to the Harlequin Junkie blog http://harlequinjunkie.com/spotlight-giveaway-it-was-only-a-kiss-by-joss-wood/) and I was thinking about Ali and our conversation about babies on Saturday night and I thought: what would be the best piece tip I could give Ali about being a mother. (Not that she needs it by the way, she is the most together, most organised person I know!)

And do you know what I came up with? Drum roll please……

Do not pick up a puking toddler and run with him to the bathroom so that he can puke in the toilet. Why? Because then you create a stream of vomit in his room, down the passage and in the bathroom which you then have to clean up…all at three in the morning. (Because they always puke at three in the morning.) Rather let him puke in one place…..

That’s it. Twelve years of raising kids and that’s all I have.

Pitiful. Sorry, Al.

So what’s the best piece of advice you ever got or what did you really learn raising your kids? Let me know whether it’s practical or profound….I might create a little sub-section here called Tips for Ali that I didn’t come up with.

Much love

Joss

xxx

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “My pitiful advice to a mommy-to-be….

  1. Desere May 21, 2013 at 7:45 am Reply

    Ha Joss! Best advise ever was from my mom and she told me to always stay calm no matter what the situation, if you panic it will all will get much worse!

  2. Zee Monodee May 21, 2013 at 8:28 am Reply

    LOL! I found your advice very practical, and right – what is it about 3AM that brings the vomit troll out?

    Advice for a new mum… For me, too, it’s been a decade since we had a baby in the house.

    Sounds cheesy, but “Savour the moment”. Seems like I blinked and my son was all grown. I have fleeting memories of him being a baby, of us bonding.

    If you’re bilingual (or speak more than 2 languages), get your baby used to hearing and speaking both from the very get go. I regret not doing that with my son (he’s only learned English once into school, though he spoke French and Creole before then).

    Don’t stress – if you’re not “perfect mum”, nothing wrong or bad is gonna happen. Give yourself permission to be human and work every situation/moment to the best of ‘your’ ability.

    I’ll try to think of some more… 🙂

    XOXO

  3. Kilmeny May 21, 2013 at 3:58 pm Reply

    1. Don’t buy into the myth of ‘the perfect mommy’: it really is just a myth…
    2. Find one person whose advice you really value and trust, and disregard the rest, however well it’s meant.
    3. ASK FOR HELP! Or at least take it when it’s offered!

Leave a Reply

